Governorship Elections 2023: INEC declares Labour Party’s Alex Otti winner of Abia governorship election

Alex Otti

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Alex Otti of the Labour Party as the winner of the Abia State governorship election.

INEC had previously suspended the collation of the State’s March 18 governorship election due to numerous controversies.

However, INEC announced the results of the only remaining Local Government elections on Wednesday.

Prof. Nnenna Nnannaya-Oti, INEC’s returning officer, declared Otti the winner, having polled the majority of votes (Click to see Video), which satisfied the provisions of the electoral act.

Otti received 175,467 votes, defeating Okey Ahiwe of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who received 88,529 votes.

Enyinnaya Nwafor of the Young Peoples Party (YPP) finished third with 28,972 votes, followed by Ikechi Emenike of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with 24,091 votes.

“That Otti Alex Chioma of Labour Party having satisfied the requirement of the law is hereby declared the winner of the election,” said INEC’s Returning Officer, Nnannaya-Oti, Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Owerri.


See the full results below:

A – 1,528
AA – 474
AAC – 298
ADC – 2,529
ADP – 601
APC – 24,091
APGA – 18,119
APM – 572
APP – 11,728
BP – 1,141
LP – 175,467
NNPP – 2,068
NRM – 472
PDP – 88,529
PRP – 168
SDP – 773
YPP – 28,972
ZLP – 1,011

Stay Connected , follow us on: Facebook: @creebhillsdotcom, Twitter: @creebhillsblog, Instagram: @creebhills, Pinterest: @creebhills Telegram: creebhills

To place an advert/sponsored post on our site, contact us via [email protected]