2023 Headies Awards Nominations (FULL LIST)

Headies 2022: Davido, Wizkid, Burna Boy and Olamide battle it out for the ‘Best Male Artiste’ Award; see full list

The nominees for the 16th edition of the Headies Awards’ voting and non-voting categories have been eliminated.

The candidates for the “Rookie of the Year” award were announced by Headies on Tuesday.

Today, July 12, 2023, the organisers released the nominees for the remaining categories.


Best Recording of The Year

Burna Boy – Alone

Victony, Tempoe – Soweto

Omah Lay – I’m a mess

Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa

Davido, SSC – Stand Strong

Tems – No Woman, No Cry


Album Of The Year

Burna Boy – Love, Damini

Asake – Mr. Money With The Vibe

Rema – Rave & Roses

Omah Lay – Boy Alone

Victony – Outlaw

Davido – Timeless


Song of The Year

Rema – Calm Down

Burna Boy – Last Last

Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa

Kizz Daniel, Tekno – Buga

Pheelz, BNXN – Finesse

Asake, Burna Boy – Sungba Remix


Best Male Artiste



Burna Boy


Kizz Daniel

Omah Lay


Best Female Artiste



Tiwa Savage

Ayra Starr


Next Rated


Seyi Vibez

Young Jonn




Songwriter of The Year

Simi – Royal

Omah Lay – I’m a mess

Tems – Lift me Up

Burna Boy – Alone

BNXN – In my mind

Wizard Chan – Earth Song


Producer of The Year

Magicsticks – Sungba Remix

Pheelz – Electricity

Andre Vibez, London – Calm Down

Tempoe – Soweto

Kel P – Kpe Paso

Rexxie – Abracadabra Remix


Afrobeats Single of The Year

Burna Boy – Last Last

Ayra Starr – Rush

Kizz Daniel, Tekno – Buga

Pheelz, BNXN – Finesse

Spyro – Who’s Your Guy

Ruger – Asiwaju


Best RnB Single

Burna Boy, Ed Sheeran – For my mind

Ckay – Mmadu

Dami Oniru – Just 4 U

Preye – Red Wine

Chike, Flavour – Hard to find

Simi, Fave – Loyal


Best Rap Single

Reminisce – Hustle

Ladipoe – Big Energy

Blaqbonez – Back in Uni

Psycho YP – Bando Diaries

OdumoduBlvck – Declan Rice

Jeriq, Phyno – My Bro


Best Alternative Song

Wizard Chan – Earth song

Cruel Santino – Final champion

Basketmouth, The Cavemen – The Traveller

Boj, Moliy, Mellissa – In a loop

Flavour – Game Changer (Dike)

Obongjayar –  – Tinko Tinko


Best Vocal Performance (Male)

Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa

Ric Hassani – My only baby

Magixx – Love Don’t Cost A Dime

Chike – Spell Remix

Praiz – Reckless

Wande Coal – Kpe Paso


Best Vocal Performance (Female)

Niniola – Memories

Simi – Loyal

Liya – Adua Remix

Waje – In Between

Preye – Red wine

Dami Oniru – Just 4 U


Best Music Video

Blaqbonez, Perliks – Back in Uni

TG Omori – PBUY

Director Pink – Spell Remix

Director K – Common Person

TG Omori – Bandana

Director K – Calm Down


Best Collaboration

Asake, Burna Boy – Sungba Remix

BNXN, Kizz Daniel, Seyi Vibez – Gwagwalada

Pheelz, BNXN – Finesse

Spyro, Tiwa Savage – Who’s Your Guy Remix

Pheelz, Davido – Electricity

Wande Coal, Olamide – Kpe Paso


Best Street-Hop Artiste

Rexxie, Naira Marley, Skiibii – Abracadabra

Seyi Vibez – Chance (Na Ham)

Asake – Joha

Poco Lee, HotKid – Otilo

Zlatan, Young Jonn – Astalavista

Mohbad – Peace


Headies Viewers’ Choice

Ruger – Asiwaju

Victony, Tempoe – Soweto

Fireboy DML, Asake – Bandana

Ayra Starr – Rush

Asake – Terminator

Mavins – Overloading (Overdose)

Crayon – Ijo (Laba Laba)

Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa

Kizz Daniel, Tekno – Buga

Pheelz, Davido – Electricity


Best West African Artiste of The Year

Gyakie (Ghana)

Black Sherif (Ghana)

The Therapist (Liberia)

Camidoh (Ghana)


Best East African artiste of the year

Zuchu (Tanzania)

Hewan Gebreworld (Ethiopia)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)

Rayvanny (Tanzania)


Best North African Artiste of The Year

Marwa Loud (Morocco)

Wegz (Egypt)

El Grande Toto (Morocco)

Soolking (Algeria)


Best Southern African Artiste of The Year

AKA (South Africa)

Nasty C (South Africa)

Costa Titch (South Africa)

Uncle Waffles (Eswatini)

Focalistic (South Africa)

DJ Tarico (Mozambique)


Best Central African Artiste of The Year

Fally Ipupa (DR Congo)

Gaz Mawete (DR Congo)

Matias Damiaso (Angola)

Emma’A (Gabon)

Libianca (Cameroon)


African Artiste Of The Year

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Marwa Loud (Morocco)

Black Sherif (Ghana)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Rema (Nigeria)


Digital Artiste Of The Year

Burna Boy

Ayra Starr


Omah Lay

Kizz Daniel



International Artiste Of The Year



Selena Gomez

Don Toliver

Ed Sheeran


Lyricist On The Roll

Ladipoe – Clowns

Vector – Clowns

Payper Corleone – Fly Talk Only

Alpha Ojini – Vigilante Bop

A-Q – Family First

Tec (SDC) – Live Life


Best Rap Album

Payper Corleone – Fly Talk Only

Show Dem Camp – Palmwine Music Vol. 3

Blaqbonez – Young Preacher

Psycho YP – YPSZN3

Vector – TESLIM

Jeriq – Billion Dollar Dream


Best Alternative Album

Basketmouth – Horoscopes

BOJ – Gbagada Express

Obongjayar – Some Nights I Dream of Doors

Cruel Santino – Subaru Boys: Final Heaven

Somadina – Heart of The Heavenly Undeniable

Native Sound System – Native World


Best RnB Album

Johnny Drille – Home

Chike – The Brother’s Keeper

Praiz – Reckless

Waje – Waje 2.0

Dami Oniru – Matter of Time

Simi – To Be Honest


Special Recognition Award

Sound Sultan


Stay Connected , follow us on: Facebook: @creebhillsdotcom, Twitter: @creebhillsblog, Instagram: @creebhills, Pinterest: @creebhills Telegram: creebhills

To place an advert/sponsored post on our site, contact us via [email protected]

Previous articleJUST IN: Nollywood actress, Cynthia Okereke is dead
Next article“Who will marry May Edochie after divorce” – Actress Esther Nwachuckwu taunts online inlaws (Audio)
Skilled and dedicated blogger with over two years experience. I publish posts on news, politics, entertainment, sports, trending gist within Nigeria and beyond. You can reach me at [email protected]