AMAA 2023: Nancy Isime, Odunlade Adekola, Bimbo Ademoye in attendance as Tobi Bakre, Kunle Afolayan, others win big (Full List)

AMAA award

The Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) for this year unfolded on the 29th of October, 2023, a Sunday to remember, right within the grand Balmoral Convention Centre in Ikeja, Lagos.

The event saw celebrities such as Bimbo Adedmoye, Nancy Isime, Odunlade Adekola, Kunle Afolayan, Tobi Bakre, and a host of others strutting their stuff in their finest attire, making a striking fashion statement.

Bimbo who was nominated in the best actress category for her role in Kunle Afolayan’s Anikulapo rocked a spaghetti green coloured gown, showing off her cleavage.

Nancy Isime on the other hand wore a traditional attire with beads to match, while Rahama who hosted the award alongside Nancy and Richard Ato wore a shiny green gown and later a fulani outfit.

Among the winners this year is “Anikulapo,” which won the Ousmane Sembene Award for Best Film in an African Language.

The film is a historical epic directed by Kunle Afolayan and starring Kunle Remi, Sola Sobowale, and Bimbo Ademoye.

Jude Idada, the director of “KOFA,” won the Michael Anyiam Osigwe Award for Best Film by an African-Born Director Living Abroad. “Jabari,” a captivating animated film produced by the Ghana-based animation studio, won the Jubril Malaifia Award for Best Animation.

Efere Ozaka Award For Best Short Film

Lions (Ethiopia) – Winner

Jubril Malaifia Award For Best Animation

Jabari (Ghana) – Winner

Best Documentary

Le Spectre de Boko Haram (Cameroon) – Winner

Ousmane Sembene Award For Best Film In An African Language

Anikulapo (Nigeria) – Winner

Michael Anyiam Osigwe Award For Best Film By An African-Born Director Living Abroad

KOFA (Nigeria/Canada) – Jude Idada – Winner

Best Diaspora Short Film

Raw Materials (Jamaica) – Directed by Sosiessia Nixon – Winner

Best Diaspora Documentary

Sound of the Police (United States) – Directed by Stanley Nelson – Winner

Best Diaspora Narrative Feature

Our Father, The Devil (United States) – Directed by Ellie Foumbi – Winner

Best Achievement in Production Design

Pat Nebo – Anikulapo – Nigeria – Winner

Best Achievement in Costume Design

Djibril Drame – Xalé – Senegal – Winner

Best Achievement in Make-Up

Campell Precious Arebamen – Mami Wata – Nigeria – Winner

Best Achievement in Soundtrack

Fight Like a Girl – Rwanda – Winner

Best Achievement in Visual Effects

Emmanuel Bassey – Gangs of Lagos – Nigeria – Winner

Best Achievement in Sound

Vianney Aube – Sira – Burkina Faso – Winner

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Lilis Soares – Mami Wata – Nigeria – Winner

Best Achievement in Editing

Bertrand Conard – Omen – DRC – Winner

Best Achievement in Screenplay

Ben Diogay Beye – Xalé – Senegal – Winner

National Film and Video Censors Board (NFVB) Award for Best Nigerian Film

Mami Wata – Winner

Best Young/Promising Actor

Maleek Sanni – Gangs of Lagos – Winner

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Jimmy-Jean Louis – Rise – Winner

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Rokhaya Niang – Xalé – Senegal – Winner

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Tobi Bakre – Brotherhood – Nigeria – Winner

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Nse Ikpe Etim – 4-4-44 (Four Four Forty-Four) – Nigeria – Winner

First Debut Feature by a Director

Baloji – Omen – DRC – Winner

Best Director

Apolline Traore – Sira – Winner

Best Film

Xalé- Senegal – Winner

Stay Connected , follow us on: Facebook: @creebhillsdotcom, Twitter: @creebhillsblog, Instagram: @creebhills, Pinterest: @creebhills Telegram: creebhills

To place an advert/sponsored post on our site, contact us via [email protected]

Previous articleBBN’s Chichi bemoans the status of her whole derrière while attempting to put on a trouser (video)
Next article2023 Ballon d’Or: Why Ronaldo wasn’t nominated
Sophisticated and Enthusiastic blogger with decent years of technical writing. A wide range of niche is often published by me. You can reach me out on [email protected], for more info.